<< Return to Issue Print Page Print Page



AUSTIN-- Rep. Solomon Ortiz, Jr. announced today that House Technology, Economic Development & Workforce Committee Chairman Mark Strama (D-Austin), Rep. Fred Brown (R-Bryan), and Rep. Angie Chen Button (R-Richardson) have become joint authors of HB 271, Ortiz's legislation to expand the number of slots available to cities and counties under the Texas Enterprise Zone Act.

The bill was heard today in the House Committee on Technology, Economic Development & Workforce and received an overwhelmingly positive response from committee members.

"I am honored to have the support of Chairman Strama, Representative Brown, and Representative Button," Ortiz said. "They are respected public servants who are leaders for economic development in Texas."

The Texas Enterprise Zone program is an important economic development tool that the City of Corpus Christi and other cities have successfully used to attract capital investment and recruit and retain local jobs. Currently, only six slots are available to the City of Corpus Christi. HB 271 would expand the number of available slots to nine.
"The Texas Enterprise Zone Program has helped win major investments in recent years by companies such as Valero, Flint Hills, and Stripes," Ortiz said. "Fostering economic growth in Corpus Christi is a major priority for me, and this bill will allow the City to expand a program that has been successfully used to attract investment to the area."
Although other economic development incentives, such as the Texas Enterprise Fund and the Emerging Technology Fund, have gone mostly to Houston, Dallas and San Antonio, small and medium size cities such as Waco, Beaumont, and Corpus Christi, have been able to take advantage of the Enterprise Zone Program.

Ortiz represents District 33, which includes part of Nueces County and the City of Corpus Christi. Rep. Ortiz encourages constituents to contact his office on this or any issue of interest at (512) 463-0484, email him at district33.ortizjr@house.state.tx.us or visit the State of Texas House website at www.house.state.tx.us.